TECH

Snooze Your Friends On Facebook

Facebook, we love to hate it but – let’s be honest – we spend a lot of time scrolling through our News Feeds with our eyes glazed over.

More often than not as we aimlessly scroll we spot a post or two that just really makes us want to grind our teeth.

It could be from a friend that decides to unnecessarily update the internet about their life ten times a day, a page that you liked years ago but isn’t quite relevant now or a group a mate added you to for no apparent reason.

Although the majority of posts from these sources are irritatingly awfully dull, every now and again the content is relevant meaning you just haven’t quite got round to unfriending the person, unliking the page or leaving the group yet.

It is a dilemma we all face as we hover over that simple button debating internally whether to click it.

That was until now as Facebook has finally given us a solution to our problems.

Yesterday Facebook introduced the ‘snooze’ function which allows you to hide content from a friend, page or group for 30 days.

 All you have to do is click on the ellipses in the top right corner of a recent post of theirs and click the snooze option.

Of course it only lasts for 30 days meaning content will appear again after a month, but at least it gives you time to consider whether you really need it in your life.

It really is that simple!

If you decide that you are better off without their nonsense then you can unfollow the friend, page or group, which is a fantastic long-term solution as you won’t see their posts until you decide to go back and click follow again.

And if things really don’t dramatically improve during those 30 days then that ‘unlike’ or ‘unfriend’ button is always there.

7 comments

  1. Estaba buscando esa informacion hace duración, te lo agradezco,
    estoy de resolución con tu punto de vista y pienso igual.
    Despues de buscar mucho por Internet encontre lo que buscaba.
    Genial!!! muchas muchas gracias

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.